Iberian hams and serrano hams

Free-range Iberian pigs

Along with flamenco, tortilla, wine and Semana Santa, ham is an institution in Spain, a delicacy that is enjoyed and shared throughout the peninsula and which makes a country famous and proud throughout the world.
In order to guide gourmets and amateurs who are a little lost in this wide choice of products, we offer you an overview of Spanish ham production. What are the different categories, how to identify and recognise them? Where is ham produced in Spain? What is a Designation of Origin and why is it a sign of quality?

In Spain, there are designations of origin for ham: 4 for Iberian ham (which we will look at in detail as they relate directly to the ham sold on this website), and 3 which regulate the production of Serrano ham (literally, mountain-cured ham).
A first distinction is made in relation to the breed of the animal: Iberian or white (pink) pig, and it is important to point out that these 7 designations represent only a tiny part of the total production. In 2020, according to figures from the Spanish Ministry of Agriculture, production was 31 million animals, while in 2019, Iberian pig farming involved 3,3 million animals, 11% of total production that year.

Designation of Spanish hams

PDO and PGI for Spanish ham

The PDO and PGI are quality indicators, recognised and declared not only by the Spanish Ministry of Agriculture, but also and above all by the European Union. The PGI is a little less strict and does not require that the entire production process be linked to a geographical area. In the case of Serrano ham, it is not necessary for the pigs to be reared in the area covered by the designation. For example, the Trevélez PGI, which is located around the village of the same name (in the heart of the Alpujarra mountains in the Granada sierra) is a beautiful area, but you won't see a single pig there. It is the smell of cured ham from the drying sheds that wafts through the streets of the villages that reminds us that we are in one of the best areas for curing Serrano ham. Bayonne ham, a Protected Geographical Indication (PGI) since 1998, is based on the same principle; the authorised curing area is located in the south-west of France.

PDO
PGI

In Spain, there are 5 hams with the DOP (Protected Designation of Origin) label: Jabugo, Los Pedroches, Dehesa de Extremadura, Guijuelo and Jamón de Teruel (Iberian hams for the first 4). The PGI label covers Jamón de Trevélez and Jamón de Serón.In Spain, there are 5 hams with the DOP (Protected Designation of Origin) label: Jabugo, Los Pedroches, Dehesa de Extremadura, Guijuelo and Jamón de Teruel (Iberian hams for the first 4). The PGI label covers Jamón de Trevélez and Jamón de Serón.

Serrano ham and geographical designations

  • PDO Jamón de Teruel
  • PGI Jamón de Trevélez
  • PGI Jamón de Serón (province of Almería)

Serrano ham comes from the white pig and its diet consists of foods derived from cereals. It is the most common dish and is usually eaten in Spain for breakfast (the most typical is ham with olive oil and tomato) or in recipes as an additional ingredient, in Andalusian salmorejo for example, or as an accompaniment to an aperitif.

The main differences between Serrano and Iberian ham lie in the breed of pigs, their feed and the way they are cured and dried (up to 4 years in the case of Iberian hams).

evolution of the total number of pigs in Spain

Published by the Spanish State Statistical Service, the evolution of total pigs and Iberian pigs since 1993.

The 4 designations of Iberian Ham

  • PDO Jabugo
  • PDO Los Pedroches
  • PDO Dehesa de Extremadura
  • PDO Guijuelo (Near Salamanca)

What does this designation of origin imply?
All the production stages of an Iberian ham must take place in a specific geographical area, which guarantees the specificity and quality of the product.
This encourages the perpetuation of a local gastronomic tradition and heritage, as well as a strong economic value.

We have already mentioned that this variety of ham only represents around 10-11% of the total produced in Spain. Its production is more complex than that of Serrano ham, and it is subject to strict set of conditions that must be met by breeders and ham producers must comply with in order to ensure that it remains the jewel in the crown of Iberian gastronomy, recognised and appreciated on all continents.

Data provided by ASICI (Interprofessional Association of the Iberian Pig) via its ITACA platform (information system) indicates that in 2020, of the approximately 3 million Iberian pigs, there were 732,962 in the top category, "Iberian pig of bellota". This category is further divided as follows:

  • 54% with the black label, 100% Iberian pig (formerly called Pata negra)
  • 46% with the red label (of which 11% are 75% Iberian pigs, and 35% are 50% Iberian pigs)

These figures may vary from year to year depending on factors such as the quantity of acorns (drought years are less favourable), producers' stocks, and the market (it is necessary to plan 3 years in advance, the time it takes for the ham to dry).

Number of hams per label

ASICI data for the period 2014-2021 - Number of Hams by label colour

The geographical distribution of farms on the Iberian Peninsula in 2020 is as follows:

  • Andalusia: 47 % (344 080 animaux)
  • Extremadura: 36 % (263 828)
  • Castilla y León: 7,2% (52 942)
  • Portugal: 8 % (58 951), border area with Spain.

In 2018, almost 7 million hams are marked with the Iberian quality label (with the Iberian quality label). However, after five years of continuous production increases, the Iberian pig industrial sector recorded a decrease in 2019. According to the interprofessional association ASICI, the slaughter of Iberian pigs fell in 2019 by 1.6%.
However, during the montanera of 2019-2020, the number of sacrifices of Iberian pigs of bellota (those fed on acorns from the dehesa) increased by 9.5% and reached 732,962. Finally, the 4 labelled colours accounted for 6.9 million Iberian hams.

Below, for the 4 Iberian ham designations, geographical and climatic indications are provided in order to differentiate them, from their environment to your plate.

1 - JABUGO

Year of creation: 1995

Jabugo iberian hams

At that time, the designation named Jamón de Huelva was recognised by the Spanish government. In 2017, it was renamed DOP Jabugo.
The land where the pigs of this designation are reared includes the oak meadows of the Extremadura provinces of Cáceres and Badajoz, as well as the Andalusian provinces of Seville, Córdoba, Huelva, Cádiz and Málaga.
From the slaughtering, to the cutting up, salting, drying and curing in natural cellars of the products from these Iberian pigs, all these stages take place in one of the 31 municipalities of the sierra of the province of Huelva.

Climate

The proximity of the Atlantic Ocean is important: humid and temperate winds from the west will mark the thermal regime as well as the rainfall of the area. The rainfall regime in the region is relatively high, with a maximum in winter. Rainfall is almost equal in autumn and spring. Summer is marked by an almost total drought during the months of July and August.

To sum up:

  • a period between 4 and 6 months normally wet (100 mm / month)
  • a dry period in July and August (with a total rainfall between 30 and 50 mm)
  • two phases of transition in the level of precipitation with a period of increase in autumn and a decrease in spring.

Average temperature 14'8°C for Aracena
Warmest month: July with an average temperature of 25°C in Aracena during this month / Coldest month: January 6.2°C on average in Aracena.
The microclimate of the designation's curing area is one of the reasons for its uniqueness: the natural drying of the hams (they "sweat" a lot in summer) is favoured by this temperature alternation.

In 2020, there were 39 companies registered with the Regulatory Council (Consejo Regulador). This is far from representing the entire production of the Aracena sierra.

2 - LOS PEDROCHES

Year of creation: 2010

Los Pedroches iberian hams

The most recent of the 4 designations.
The pigs are born, reared and fed in the same area where the Iberian paletas and hams of this designation of Los Pedroches are made and cured. The geographical area covers some thirty municipalities in the province of Córdoba, all of them to the north of the city of the same name (Pozoblanco, Hinojosa del Duque, Villanueva de Córdoba...).

Climate

Cold and dry Mediterranean climate with continental features.
There are two very marked periods: winter is cold with moderate rainfall and summer is dry and hot. Autumn is relatively mild and spring is almost unnoticeable.
Long dry spells during the summer period are very common.
Rainfall is irregular throughout the year (around 500 mm on average).

The dehesa (holm oak pasture) in the north of the province of Córdoba represents 300 000 ha. It is home to cork oaks and Portuguese oaks of Quercus family. It is the encina species of oak that is most present. In fact, the northern part of the province of Cordoba has the highest percentage of encinas in the whole of the Iberian Peninsula.
In 2020, there were 151 pig farms and about 15 companies registered with the Regulatory Council (Consejo Regulador).

3 - DEHESA DE EXTREMADURA

Year of creation: 1990

Dehesa de Extremadura iberian hams

All the production stages: breeding, slaughtering of Iberian pigs, curing, maturing and drying processes must take place in the same area, i.e. the entire territory of the autonomous community of Extremadura, which is made up of the provinces of Cáceres and Badajoz.

Climate

Continental climate with a moderate Atlantic influence. The average annual rainfall in the province of Badajoz is 500 mm.
The average annual temperature is between 16 and 17°C. However, extreme temperatures of 41°C are recorded in July and August, while the thermometer can fall to around 3/4°C during December and January. This constitutes an important thermal oscillation between winter and summer.
In the province of Cáceres, the average annual rainfall is very variable: generally less than 500 mm in the south of the province, it increases progressively as one approaches the mountains in the north-east of the province, where it exceeds 1,200 mm of annual rainfall.

The average annual temperature is above 16°C in the south of the province but below 10°C in the north. Maximum temperatures range from 40°C (in the south) to 37°C (in the northeast). Minimum temperatures are between -2 and 5°C.

The dehesas are mainly populated by holm oaks and cork oaks, and are widespread in the autonomous community of Extremadura (formed by the provinces of Cáceres and Badajoz). With almost a million hectares of dehesa the pigs have plenty of space to stretch their legs. It is the largest region in terms of livestock production.
In 2020, there were 2100 "cebo" pig (animals that only eat cereals and are not free-range) farms for 120 pork butchery companies.
(Source : Mercasa, ALIMENTACIÓN EN ESPAÑA - 23ª EDICIÓN. 2020/2021)

4 - GUIJUELO

Year of creation: 1986

Dehesa de Guijelo iberian hams

The pigs used to make the products of this protected designation are distributed in the west and southwest of Spain: in Castilla y León, Castilla-La Mancha, Extremadura and Andalusia.
The pieces spend the maturing and drying period in an enclave between the Bejar and Francia mountain ranges, located in the south-east of the province of Salamanca. This is the only designation of origin where the area where the pigs are reared is different from the area where the Iberian products made from them are produced.

Climate

With a continental climate, the winters in the south-east of the province of Salamanca are long and cold, with an extended period of frost (more than 1000 metres above sea level). This dry cold gives the ham of this designation a milder flavour that differentiates it from other hams.
The summers are dry, hot and with strong temperature fluctuations.
In 2020, there were 346 companies registered with the Regulatory Council (Consejo Regulador) for 872 livestock farms.

number of pigs per PDO between 2016 and 2021

Asici data on the evolution of the number of pigs per Designation of Origin between 2016 and 2021.

To conclude, let's start with this reference published in the Spanish Official State Bulletin in 2014. The following graph shows the amount of pigs allowed per hectare, depending on the coverage of oak trees, to obtain the designation "de bellota". For example, below 35 trees per hectare there can only be one Iberian pig.

BOE standard 2014 dehesa

This graph shows how essential ham is to the Spanish economy and culture. From breeding to curing, cutting and tasting, it is an art that is applied in a sector that has always been dependent on rain and shine. At national level, an association of experts maintains this culture and this unique know-how: AGACUJ
With 31 million pigs in 2020, Spain remains one of the European leaders, but as we have just seen, not all hams from this production are on the same level. At the end of the funnel, only a minority are labelled (PGI or PDO), and it is towards these quality labels that we advise you to turn.

Since 2019 and the Covid pandemic19 it is more complicated to make predictions about the ham market. For example for Iberian ham: between the moment the acorn falls off and the moment a slice of ham is put in the mouth about 4 years ago. How can we predict the consumption of a fairly expensive product several years in advance? In 2022, after several years of growth, there will be a significant drop in production, with the immediate effect of an increase in meat prices (the price of our famous presa ibérica has risen sharply).

See also

Menu

Settings

Please sign in first.

Sign in

Appellations du Jambon ibérique et jambon serrano

Porcs ibériques élevés en liberté

Avec le flamenco, la tortilla, le vin et la Semana Santa, le jambon est une institution en Espagne, un mets apprécié et partagé sur toute la péninsule et qui fait la renommée et la fierté d’un pays dans le monde entier.
Afin d’aider les gourmets et les amateurs un peu perdus dans ce large choix de produits, nous vous proposons un tour d’horizon de la production de jambon espagnol. Quelles sont les différentes catégories, comment les identifier et les reconnaître ? Où est produit le jambon en Espagne ? Que représente une appellation d'origine contrôlée et en quoi est-elle un signe de qualité ?

Sur le territoire espagnol, il existe 7 appellations d’origine pour le jambon: 4 pour le jambon ibérique (celles que nous verrons en détail car elles concernent directement la charcuterie vendue sur ce site), et 3 qui réglementent la production de jambon serrano (littéralement jambon de montagne).
Une première distinction a ainsi lieu par rapport à la race de l’animal : ibérique ou cochon blanc (rose), et il est important de préciser que ces 7 appellations ne représentent qu’une part infime de la production totale. En 2020, selon les chiffres du ministère espagnol de l'Agriculture, la production était de 31 millions de bêtes alors qu’en 2019, l’élevage de porc ibérique concernait 3,3 millions de bêtes, soit 11% de la production totale cette année-là.

Appellation de jambons espagnols

DOP et IGP pour le jambon espagnol

Les DOP (AOP en français) et IGP sont des indicateurs de qualité, reconnus et déclarés non seulement par le ministère de l’Agriculture espagnol, mais aussi et surtout par l’Union Européenne qui protège jusqu'au nom. L’IGP un peu moins stricte, n’impose pas que tout le processus de production ou d’élaboration soit lié à une zone géographique. En l'occurrence pour le jambon serrano, il n’est pas nécessaire que les porcs soient élevés sur le territoire délimité par l’appellation. Par exemple, l’IGP Trevélez, qui se situe autour du village du même nom, au cœur des Alpujarras dans la sierra de Grenade, est une région magnifique, mais vous n’y verrez pas un seul cochon. Seule l’odeur de jambon sec qui émane des séchoirs et qui se répand dans les rues des villages que vous traversez vous rappelle que vous êtes dans l’une des meilleures zones d’affinage du jambon serrano. En France, le jambon de Bayonne, IGP depuis 1998, repose sur le même principe puisque la zone d’élevage autorisée se situe dans le grand Sud-Ouest.

DOP
IGP

En Espagne, on dénombre 5 jambons portant le label DOP (appellation d’origine protégée) : Jabugo, Los Pedroches, Dehesa de Extremadura, Guijuelo et Jamón de Teruel (jambons ibériques pour les 4 premiers). Le label IGP concerne Jamón de Trevélez et Jamón de Serón.

Le Jambon serrano et les appellations géographiques

  • DOP Jamón de Teruel
  • IGP Jamón de Trevélez
  • IGP Jamón de Serón (province de Almería)

Le jambon serrano est issu du porc blanc et son alimentation se compose de nourriture dérivée des céréales. Ce mets est le plus répandu et on le consomme souvent en Espagne dès le petit-déjeuner (le plus typique est le jambon avec huile d’olive et tomate) ou dans des recettes en guise d’ingrédient additionnel comme pour le salmorejo andalous, ou encore en accompagnement lors d’un apéritif.

Les principales différences entre le jambon de serrano et le jambon ibérique résident principalement dans la race des porcs, leur alimentation et le mode d’affinage et de séchage (jusqu’à 4 ans pour des jambons ibériques).

évolution du total de cochons en Espagne

Publié par le service de statistique de l'État espagnol, l’évolution du total de porcs et porcs ibériques depuis 1993.

Les 4 appellations du Jambon ibérique

  • DOP Jabugo
  • DOP Los Pedroches
  • DOP Dehesa de Extremadura
  • DOP Guijuelo (Proche de Salamanca)

Qu’implique cette désignation d’appellation d’origine ?
Toutes les phases de production d’un jambon ibérique doivent être réalisées dans une zone géographique donnée assurant ainsi la spécificité et la qualité du produit.
Cela encourage à perpétuer une tradition et un patrimoine gastronomique local, et aussi une forte valeur économique.

Nous avons indiqué plus haut que cette variété de jambon ne représentait qu’environ 10-11 % du total produit en Espagne. Son élaboration est plus complexe que celle du jambon serrano, il est soumis à un cahier des charges rigoureux que doivent respecter les éleveurs et les affineurs pour continuer à en faire le fleuron de la gastronomie ibérique, reconnu et dégusté sur tous les continents.

Les données fournies par ASICI (Association interprofessionnelle du cochon ibérique) via sa plateforme ITACA (système d’information) indiquent qu’en 2020 sur les quelques 3 millions de cochons ibériques, il y a en avait 732 962 dans la catégorie supérieure cochon ibérique de bellota. Cette catégorie se divise ensuite de la façon suivante :

  • 54% avec le label noir, porc 100% ibérique (anciennement nommé Pata negra)
  • 46% avec le label rouge (dont 11% de porcs 75 % ibérique, et 35% de porcs 50 % ibérique)

Ces chiffres peuvent varier d’une année à l’autre en fonction de facteurs comme la quantité de glands (les années de sécheresse sont moins favorables), les stocks des producteurs, et le marché (il faut prévoir 3 ans à l’avance, le temps que le jambon sèche)

Nombre de Jambons par étiquette

Données ASICI pour la période 2014-2021 - Nombre de Jambons par couleur d’étiquette

Toujours pour 2020, la répartition géographique des élevages sur la péninsule ibérique se présente de la façon suivante :

  • Andalousie : 47 % (344 080 animaux)
  • Estrémadure : 36 % (263 828)
  • Castilla y León : 7,2% (52 942)
  • Portugal : 8 % (58 951), zone frontalière avec l’Espagne.

En 2018, près de 7 millions de jambons sont marqués du label de qualité ibérique (avec la bague de norme de qualité ibérique). Mais après cinq années d’augmentation continue de la production, le secteur industriel du porc ibérique enregistrait une baisse en 2019. Selon l’association interprofessionnelle ASICI, l’abattage de porcs ibériques a diminué en 2019 de 1,6%.
Cependant, durant la montanera de 2019-2020, le nombre de sacrifices des porcs ibériques de bellota (ceux alimentés en glands de la dehesa) a toutefois augmenté de 9,5% et atteignait 732 962. Finalement, les 4 couleurs labellisées représentaient 6,9 millions de jambons ibériques.

Ci-dessous, pour les 4 appellations de jambon ibérique, sont fournies des indications géographiques et climatiques afin d’établir une distinction de leur environnement à votre assiette.

1 - JABUGO

Année de création : 1995

Jamones Jabugo

A cette date, l’appellation alors nommée Jamón de Huelva est reconnue par le gouvernement espagnol. En 2017, elle prend le nom de DOP Jabugo.
Les terres d’élevage des cochons de cette appellation comprennent les prairies de chênes des provinces d’Estrémadure de Cáceres et Badajoz ainsi que les provinces andalouses de Séville, Cordoue, Huelva, Cádiz et Málaga.
De l’abattage, à la mise en pièces, la salaison, le séchage et l’affinage en caves naturelles des produits issus de ces élevages de porcs ibériques, toutes ces étapes ont lieu dans l’une des 31 municipalités de la sierra de la province de Huelva.

Climat

La proximité avec l’océan Atlantique a son importance : des vents humides et tièdes/tempérés occidentaux vont marquer le régime thermique comme la pluviométrie de la zone. Le régime pluviométrique de la région est relativement élevé, son maximum est atteint en hiver. Les précipitations sont quasiment équivalentes à l’automne et au printemps. L’été est marqué par une sécheresse presque totale durant les mois de juillet et d’août.

En résumé :

  • une période entre 4 et 6 mois normalement humide (100 mm / mois)
  • une période sèche en juillet et en août (avec des précipitations totales autour de 30 à 50 mm.
  • deux phases de transition du niveau des précipitations avec une période d’augmentation en automne et une baisse pour le printemps.

Température moyenne 14,8°C pour Aracena
Mois le plus chaud : juillet avec une température moyenne de 25°C à Aracena durant ce mois / Mois le plus froid : janvier 6,2°C à Aracena en moyenne.
Le microclimat de la zone d’affinage de l’appellation en fait notamment sa singularité : le séchage naturel des jambons est favorisé par cette alternance de température (ils "transpirent" beaucoup en été)

En 2020, il y avait 39 entreprises inscrites auprès du Conseil Régulateur (Consejo Regulador). Ce qui est loin de représenter la totalité de la production de la sierra d’Aracena

2 - LOS PEDROCHES

Année de création : 2010

Jamones Los Pedroches

La plus récente des 4 appellations.
Les cochons naissent, grandissent et s’alimentent dans la même zone où a lieu l’élaboration et l’affinage des palettes et jambons ibériques de cette dénomination de Los Pedroches. La zone géographique s'étend sur une trentaine de municipalités situées dans la province de Cordoue, toutes au Nord de la ville du même nom. (Pozoblanco, Hinojosa del Duque, Villanueva de Córdoba…)

Climat

Climat froid et sec, de type méditerranéen avec des traits continentaux.
Il y a deux périodes très marquées : l’hiver est froid avec des pluies modérées et l’été est sec et chaud. L’automne est relativement doux et le printemps, quant à lui, passe pratiquement inaperçu.
Les longs épisodes de sécheresse durant la période estivale sont très courants.
On note une irrégularité des précipitations au cours de l’année (autour de 500 mm en moyenne).

La dehesa de encinar du nord de la province de Córdoba représente 300 000 ha. On y trouve des alcornoques et des quejigos mais du genre Quercus. Ce sont les chênes de l’espèce encina qui y sont les plus présents. C’est d’ailleurs dans le nord de la province de Cordoue qu’il y a le plus grand pourcentage de encinas de toute la péninsule ibérique.
En 2020, il y avait 151 exploitations d’élevage de cochons pour une quinzaine d’entreprises inscrites auprès du Conseil Régulateur (Consejo Regulador).

3 - DEHESA DE EXTREMADURA

Année de création : 1990

Jamones Dehesa de Extremadura

Toutes les étapes de production : élevage, abattage des cochons ibériques, élaboration avec la salaison, maturation et séchage doivent avoir lieu dans la même zone, soit l’intégralité du territoire de la communauté autonome d'Estrémadure constituée des provinces de Cáceres, Badajoz.

Climat

Climat continental avec une influence atlantique modérée. La moyenne annuelle des précipitations de la province de Badajoz est de 500 mm.
La température annuelle moyenne se situe entre 16 et 17°C. Mais des températures extrêmes de 41°C sont enregistrées en juillet et août tandis que le thermomètre peut descendre près des 3/4°C durant les mois de décembre et de janvier. Ce qui constitue une oscillation de températures importante entre l’hiver et l’été.
Dans la province de Cáceres, la moyenne annuelle des précipitations est très variable : généralement inférieure à 500 mm, dans le sud de la province, elle augmente progressivement lorsque l’on s’approche des montagnes du nord-est de la province où l’on dépasse les 1200 mm de précipitation annuelle.

La température annuelle moyenne est supérieure aux 16°C dans le sud de la province mais inférieure à 10°C dans le nord. Les maximales oscillent entre 40°C (dans le sud) et 37°C (dans le nord-est). Les minimales entre -2 et 5°C.

Les Dehesas sont principalement peuplées d’encinas et alcornoques, et largement répandues dans la communauté autonome d’Estrémadure (constituée des provinces de Cáceres y Badajoz). Avec près d’un million d’hectares de dehesa, les cochons ont de quoi se dégourdir les pattes. C’est la plus grosse région en termes d’élevage.
En 2020 il y avait 2100 exploitations de "cerdo de cebo" pour 120 entreprises d'élaboration de charcuterie.
(Source : Mercasa, ALIMENTACIÓN EN ESPAÑA - 23ª EDICIÓN. 2020/2021)

4 - GUIJUELO

Année de création : 1986

Jamones Dehesa de Guijelo

Les cochons qui servent à élaborer les produits de cette dénomination sont répartis dans l’ouest et le sud-ouest de l’Espagne : en Castille et Léon, Castille-La Manche, Estrémadure et Andalousie.
Les pièces passent la période de maturation et de séchage dans une zone enclavée entre la chaîne montagneuse de Béjar et Francia, situées au sud-est de la province de Salamanque. C’est la seule dénomination pour laquelle la zone d’élevage des cochons est différente de la zone d’élaboration des produits ibériques issus de ces animaux.

Climat

De climat continental, les hivers dans le sud-est de la province de Salamanca sont longs et froids avec une période étendue de gelées (plus de 1000 mètres d’altitude). Ce froid sec confère au jambon de cette appellation une saveur plus douce qui le différencie, pour certains, des autres jambons.
Les étés sont secs, chauds et avec de fortes oscillations thermiques.
En 2020, il y avait 346 entreprises inscrites auprès du Conseil Régulateur (Consejo Regulador) pour 872 fermes d’élevage.

nombre de cochons par AOP entre 2016 et 2021

Données Asici sur l’évolution du nombre de cochons par Dénomination d'origine contrôlée entre 2016 et 2021.

Pour conclure, commençons par cette référence publiée au Bulletin Officiel de l’état espagnol en 2014. Le graphique ci-dessous indique la quantité de porcs autorisés par hectare, en fonction de la couverture en chênes, permettant de bénéficier de la désignation "de bellota". Par exemple, en dessous de 35 arbres par hectare il ne peut y avoir qu’un seul cochon ibérique.

BOE norme 2014 dehesa

Ce graphique montre à quel point le jambon occupe une place essentielle dans l’économie et la culture espagnole. De l’élevage à l’affinage, en passant par la découpe puis à la dégustation, c'est tout un art que met en œuvre un secteur qui a toujours été dépendant de la pluie et du beau temps, au sens propre et figuré. Au niveau national, une association d’experts maintient cette culture et ce savoir-faire unique au monde : AGACUJ
Avec 31 millions de porcs en 2020, l’Espagne reste un des leaders européens, cependant, comme nous venons de le voir, tous les jambons issus de cette production ne sont pas logés à la même enseigne. Au bout de l’entonnoir, seule une minorité est labellisée (IGP ou DOP), et c’est vers ces mentions de qualité que nous conseillons de vous orienter.

Depuis 2019 et la pandémie de Covid19 il est plus compliqué de faire des prévisions sur le marché du jambon, par exemple pour le cochon ibérique, entre le moment où le gland tombe et celui où une tranche de jambon est mise en bouche il y a environ 4 ans, ce qui laisse une grande part à l’inconnu. Comment prévoir la consommation d’un produit assez onéreux plusieurs années à l’avance ? En 2022, après plusieurs années de croissance, on note une baisse significative de la production, avec comme répercussion immédiate une hausse des tarifs de la viande (le prix de la fameuse presa ibérica s’est envolé).

À voir également

Menu

Paramètres

Please sign in first.

Connexion